🎓 The Course

The GCSE course is underpinned by an understanding that there is a spiritual dimension to life which should be recognised and fostered. 

All pupils are helped to understand that personal well-being and fulfilment is inter-dependent with that of the community in which 

we live, and that love and respect are both a responsibility and an entitlement within human relationships. As pupils grow in awareness of this spiritual dimension, so they grow in understanding of the dignity and potential of the human person, in themselves and in others. 

The Catholic Christianity as well as the Perspectives on Faith programme gives students the opportunity to learn about their own faith and that of others, so that they are able to develop a knowledge and understanding of faith at a personal level and a knowledge and understanding of the place of faith within the history of civilisation and within the contemporary world in which moral decisions are made all the time. 

📝 Assessments

Students study AQA syllabus specification B, which includes two 105-minute written exams. 

Exam One: Y11 written assessment – 50% – Catholic Christianity 

Pupils will explore the following topics: Creation, Incarnation, Triune God, Redemption, Church and Eschatology.

Exam Two: Y11 written assessment – 50% – Perspectives on Faith 

Pupils will concentrate on the study of Judaism as well as two religious, philosophical and ethical themes chosen from: 

  • Religion, family and relationships 
  • Religion, peace and conflict 
  • Religion, human rights and social justice 
A boy lighting a candle

Subject Contact:

Mr Blaho

Post-16 Academic:

  • A Level Religious Education
  • A Level Philosophy

Post-16 Employment:

  • Travel Industry
  • Public Relations (PR)
  • Journalism
  • TV & Radio
  • Police
  • Teaching
  • Law
  • Health Service Management
  • Social Work
  • Solicitor
  • Surveying
  • Youth Work
  • Advisory Work
  • Counselling
  • Prison and Probation Work
  • Religious Work